3D alphabet animated.

Next I want to animate the 3d text. After looking at the image of the text from an angle, it looks like city buildings. Particularly the grid of New York, hence my reason for looking at the ‘typographic journal for new york’ and ‘the legible city’. I want to show the transition between the plain, flat characters to the rotated and extruded typeface. I would also like to get a view from in between the letters, like a perspective a person would get from a city street.


There are a couple of things I need to consider before getting started on this animation. I need to think about the finish of the characters and how the outside of each extruded shape will look. Do I want each shape to have the same finish? Do i want to make it look like a city scape or do I want to keep the wireframe? I need to think about the speed of the transition and the different angles I will use.

I am going to start on a rough storyboard.

Leave a comment